Liner Notes

Selections from the Garden - Ruth Moody

Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Banjo, Piano, Ukulele, Accordion


Paul Mathew: Bass on 2, 3, 4, 9, 10 • Joe Phillips: Bass on 8
Andrew Downing: Bass on 12 • Joel Stouffer: Drums on 4, 9, 10
Jean Martin: Drums on 2, 5, 12 • Mark Mariash: Drums on 1, 3 • Christian Dugas: Drums on 8
Kevin Breit: Mandola on 1; Electric Guitar on 2; National on 8
Justin Haynes: High-Strung Parlour Guitar on 12 • Colin Cripps: Electric Guitar on 9
Luke Doucet: Electric Guitar on 3, 9; Pedal Steel on 3; Hammertone on 7; Bg Vocal on 3
Joey Wright: Electric Guitar on 9 • Matt Peters: Vocal, Organ, Acoustic Guitar on 4
Heather Masse: Bg Vocal on 9, 12 • Nicky Mehta: Bg Vocal on 12
Oh Susanna: Bg Vocal on 3 • Aoife O’Donovan: Bg Vocal on 1 • Brittany Hass: Fiddle on 1
Tristan Claridge: Cello on 1 • Greg Liszt: Resonator Banjo on 1 • Corey Di Mario: Bass on 1
Richard Moody: Violin on 8, 10 • Jeremy Penner: Fiddle on 8
Kathleen Kajioka: Violin & Viola on 6 • Leanne Zacharias: Cello on 6
Ryan Driver: Synth on 5 • David Travers-Smith: Trumpet, E Flat Peck Horn, Organ, Omnichord, Keyboards

Produced by David Travers-Smith
Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by David Travers-Smith at Found Sound, Toronto, ON;
Additional Recording done at The Canterbury Music Company, Toronto, ON, by
David Travers-Smith; at Escarpment Sound, in Acton, ON, by David Travers-Smith,
assisted by Philip Spencer; at Sound Design in Brattleboro, VT, by Alan Stockwell;
in Brooklyn, NY, by Jacob Silver; in Winnipeg, MB, by Lloyd Peterson and by Jeremy Penner;
and in Mysore, India, by Richard Moody
Valentine recorded at The Cabin

Original artwork and design by Ron Sawchuk
Photography by Art Turner

Crooked Still appears courtesy of Signature Sounds
Oh Susanna appears courtesy of Outside Music
Matt Peters appears courtesy of Coalition Entertainment (Records) Inc.
Luke Doucet appears courtesy of Six Shooter Records

All songs written by Ruth Moody © 2010 SOCAN except
We Can Only Listen by Ruth Moody/Matt Peters/Derek Norton © 2009 SOCAN.
String arrangement for Never Said Goodbye by Justin Haynes and David Travers-Smith.

So many thank yous…

My incredible family – Mum, Dad, Rach, Rich, Jane, Rob, Owen, Will, Taryn, & Tia

All the musicians who contributed to this record: Paul, Joel, Kevin, Justin, Jeremy,
Richy, Mark, Nicky, Heather, Aoife, Corey, Brittany, Tristan, Greg, Matt, Suzie, Christian,
Joe, Andrew, Jean, Colin, Luke, Joey, Ryan, Kathleen, and Leanne

Ron Sawchuk; Art Turner; Eric Peltoniemi, Ellen Stanley, Luke Welsh,
and everyone at Red House Records; Shock Records;
FACTOR; Manitoba Film and Music; and Manitoba Music

The Wailin’ Jennys, Amelia Curran, Rachel Stone, Neil Mehta, Herschel Freeman,
Julien Paquin, Jack Schuller, Jill Brooksbank, Lloyd Peterson, Jeremy Darby,
Natasha Lekes, Mike and Luka Burns, Jason Smith, Rob Krause, Sean McManus,
Mike Morgan, Sam Khouvongsavanh, Lyn Stienstra, Grant Johnson, Heather Kaye and
Steve Wolfe, Ollie Swain, Leonard Podolak, Sam Baardman, Derek Norton, Norm Dugas,
Larry Wray, Jeremy Fraser, Daryl Perry, Cam Giroux, Graham Shaw, CBC Radio,
Steve McCreary at Collings Guitars, Tanya Ogsbury at Ome Banjos, John Pearse Strings,
LR Baggs, and Songwriters Association of Canada

To David, for everything.

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada
through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund)
and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters.
Produced with the participation of Manitoba Film and Music.